Sequel

Friends,

This blog is about writing, travel and adventure and the ‘second act’ of life. If you are stuck in a corporate job, always wanted a creative career, or just want to laugh with me at the lessons I learn along the way, please follow my blog. (Yes, I am the oldest intern at my current internship. And, yes, I am older than Vince Vaughn and Owen Wilson. And, yes, they got paid more for their ‘internship’ at Google, but they don’t get to hit golf balls with Mary on Friday afternoon or enjoy adult libations with the other great folks I’m honored to work with.)

I promise to post the best prose I can write and the funniest things that have happened lately. Occasionally I will invite some of my writing buddies to guest-host the blog.

Writing buddies: I am HAPPY to promote your work, just ask.

Enjoy and please share if you like what you see. They say here at SCAD that the way to get a book deal is to get published in literary journals, then write many, many agents. They also say that the way to get noticed is to maintain – all at the same time – a blog, FB page, Twitter, YouTube digital stories, etc. And to encourage followers. So, I am following this advice to one day pay the rent with writing – oh, and those student loans I now have by choice.

You can follow me for fun.

©Sybil McLain-Topel and Annietalks.Wordpress.com, 2013-2015. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without written permission from Sybil McLain-Topel is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, however, please give full and clear credit to Sybil McLain-Topel and Annietalks.Wordpress.com with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

10 thoughts on “Sequel

  1. I wish you the best of luck with the “pay the rent with writing” part, Sybil. Librarianship fails in that department…..but it’s still a great gig. At least you know that one academic library will be purchasing your published works!

    Like

    • You bet. And you got the intended pun, of course. Next post will probably be the Nashville flood – I’m more or less alternating humor with serious stuff and the flood story’s not funny at all. The post after that will include another cousin, to whom you are more closely related. Question – should I use a fake name, ask her, or just change the name? It puts her in a positive light, by the way. It will be a story about the beach when we were quite a bit younger.

      Like

      • I would ask if you use her name, but she will probably be flattered. On the flood, you might make note of the neighborhood ghost town at 440/Woodmont/65. Spooky to drive through

        Like

Leave a Reply

