Adventures in Writing – Lavande No. 19

Excerpt – Lavender No. 19

by Sybil McLain-Topel

La Lavande.

La lavande me manque.

Lavender is missing to me. This is the French construction of the phrase ‘I miss lavender.’

When I say I miss my lover, I say in English, I miss you. In French I say, you are missing to me:  tu me manques. Listen for nuance.  The noun for me, myself, and I now rests in shade. My lover takes on full sun. Tu me manques.

Subtle. Thought. Shift. …

To read the rest of this essay, please contact the author by leaving a comment.

©Sybil McLain-Topel and Annietalks.Wordpress.com, 2013-2015.

Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without written permission from Sybil McLain-Topel is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, however, please give full and clear credit to Sybil McLain-Topel and Annietalks.Wordpress.com with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

 

3 thoughts on “Adventures in Writing – Lavande No. 19

  1. Pingback: Adventures in Writing – Lavande No. 19 | Sybil McLain-Topel

Leave a Reply

